On Building Blog Audience

I stumbled upon one of the WordPress News posted yesterday by Erica (Bestselling Author Shares 3 Tips for Building Your Blog Audience). Once again, I am inspired to blog, having joined WordPress just a few months ago.

Let me quote the news.

We asked Rachel to share her advice on how to grow your blog audience. Hereโ€™s what she had to say:

The first thing I did was to read and comment on other blogs that I thought had a similar audience to mine.Leaving thoughtful comments with a link back to your blog is a great strategy. But you need to actually engage, and respond to the post. Readers are smart. Comments that are clearly only self-promotion will be obvious. Donโ€™t write, โ€œGreat post! I think you and your readers might also be interested in my blog [link here].โ€ Instead, get into the discussion. Respond to the issue at hand.

When you go to leave a reply, donโ€™t post your blog link in the comment. Readers understand that they can click on your name and I think leaving the link in the post reeks a bit of self-promotion. (To change the link, go Users โ†’ Personal Settings in your dashboard and find the Website field under Account Details.) If you regularly comment on someoneโ€™s blog, that person will likely eventually stop by and read your blog, too. Iโ€™ve found the blogging community to be one of the most inclusive and generous out there.

Also, donโ€™t be afraid to ask for help.ย When I started out, I emailed some of the bloggers I most admired. I told them I loved their blog and asked their advice on how to find success. They were people who had clearly cracked the nut and each had their own tips for what worked for them. Then you can pick and choose.

Finally, give credit where credit is due.ย When I read a blog post that I love or that spurs an idea for my own blog, I always reference the post and link back. Blogging is about community and sharing, and this sets the tone. Just recently, I wrote a blog post inspired by a post on 1000AwesomeThings.com. I linked back, and hopefully turned a bunch of new readers onto the site. Because there was a decent amount of traffic sent to his blog, or maybe because he received aย pingback, Neil Pasricha then came and commented on my blog! This is the author of two #1 International Bestselling books! I was so thrilled. I emailed Neil to thank him, and that began a back and forth, where I was able to ask him his blogging tips.

The bottom of line of all these lessons is to engage. Blogging is about community. Itโ€™s most successful not as a solitary endeavor but when you enlist the help of others, and in turn help them, too.

About Mariel Tan

Artist at heart who shares the spice in her life. Visit my blogs: https://marieltan.wordpress.com/ https://joiedevivremariel.wordpress.com/

5 comments

  1. TBM

    Good luck with garnering an audience! I have to agree with her rule about giving credit. I’ve found that many wordpress bloggers are so kind about linking to bloggers who have inspired them and who have helped them. It is a very pleasant community and I’ve met so many nice people from all over the world. Keep it up!

    Like

    • It’s a great community. I was wondering if you have a shortlist of blogs you’d like to recommend for me to follow ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

      • TBM

        I have a blog roll on my site. What types of blogs would you like to follow closely. Several of the book bloggers are super sweet. There are also a lot of travel and photography blogs. Let me know I can try and narrow it down.

        Like

  2. Pingback: About a year ago « Tods Blog/ today on Tod…….

  3. Pingback: Tips for Building Your Blog Audience | cyberlatinonews

Comments

