Free Time is Friend Time

I am not surprised. I am part of the statistics.

49 percent of women say they do not have enough free time. … Women who set aside regular free time are ultimately more satisfied with their lives – 50 percent report being satisfied versus 41 percent of those who regularly postpone their free time.” (“Women Need More Free Time Says Real Simple Study” ; Fishbowl NY, 3/9/2012)

Thanks to MWF Seeking BFF for another interesting post – The Hard Facts: Free Time is Friend Time. I shall quote my favorite parts.

But keep in mind that time spent with friends also dramatically increases your odds of long-term survival, delays memory loss, lowers stress, improves sleep, and boosts your immune system. It is probably the best thing you could do for your health.

The Real Simple study quoted above found that much of the time pressure women feel is self-imposed. According to their research, the free-time deficit is often caused by poor delegating or not letting go of control. That’s not likely to change all too soon.  Sad, but true.

I won’t deny that I have difficulties making time for some of my friends. I just find it difficult going around (north-south-north-south) that I end up spending time with my friend in the area. This blog entry is such a good reminder for me to sit back and relax. I need to let go and let God. Thank you, Mr. Go, for the fun times in the midst of stress from finals in school.

I don’t know if it happens to you but I usually get lazy when I think about spending time with other people when I feel cozy in the house. The thing is, I don’t remember any regrets when I actually fought the lazy feeling. To letting go and having fun!

About Mariel Tan

Artist at heart who shares the spice in her life. Visit my blogs: https://marieltan.wordpress.com/ https://joiedevivremariel.wordpress.com/

One comment

  1. VA

    I totally agree with the last paragraph! When I was younger, I relied too much on how I “feel like” at the moment when deciding if I will go out of the house and spend time with friends. Nowadays, I remind myself the instances I’m thankful that I did fight that lazy feeling and actually went out. I guess eventually you learn that in order to maintain relationships, you must be willing to make time for the people who matter even when it is sometimes inconvenient or when you don’t feel like it coz you just wanna bum at home. (haha sounds like a lame reason but it’s true!) 😀

    Like

Comments

