The Indefinite Hangout

Thanks to MWF Seeking BFF for this post about The Indefinite Hangout. Let me quote some parts of the blog entry.

Yesterday at brunch a friend mentioned that one of the biggest and toughest changes in friendship as we age has been the elimination of the β€œindefinite hangout.” Indefinite as in, we’ll hang until we’re done, without a specific time stamp because someone has to get home or to a workout class or to an appointment.

These days, though, that’s an incredible luxury. At a Sunday morning brunch, there’s almost always the next thing on your to-do list, and when you make brunch plans you might find yourself saying β€œ11 sounds great, but I have to be home by 1:30 because…”

Come to think of it, I don’t remember when my last indefinite hangout was, even with Mr. Go. I consider it a luxury indeed to hangout and have nothing planned after, opening the possibilities for spontaneity. I may consider alternatives whenever I go out, but I don’t remember a time when I just went out and had no alternatives planned. I think I need to give in more to life’s pleasures and stop planning every bit of my life. (haha!)

I know I plan a lot. I plan so much I always have contingency plans to make sure I “achieve” “something.” I guess I don’t like the feeling of a “wasted” day. I say it as “wasted” because there really isn’t such a thing as a wasted day because there is always a purpose for everything. I just feel guilty sometimes when I put off things that I must do for personal pleasure.

I need to remember that rest and leisure is something that must also be achieved. Living life!

About Mariel Tan

Artist at heart who shares the spice in her life. Visit my blogs: https://marieltan.wordpress.com/ https://joiedevivremariel.wordpress.com/

Comments

