Learning to Say No

Being able to say “No” is one of the hardest things for me to do. I am a very diligent person. I take my responsibilities seriously and I get excited when something challenges me. Believe it or not, I am tortured when I turn down work because I love challenging myself. However, there always comes a point when we need to know our limits. This limit can be a lack of time, resources or energy to deal with things or people who cause unnecessary stress.

Some people may see this as ‘giving up,’ but I see this as a strength. Some people would rather beat themselves working on something that has become detrimental to them only to please the people benefiting from the results of their work. We have to realize that we cannot please everyone. We only have one mind and body. We only have one life to live. This is why I greatly admire people who know their limits, who work within their limits but still strive to achieve beyond what is expected of them.

I don’t want to be just efficient. I want to be effective. To be effective, I need to be able to produce the best results given my limited resources. This can only be done if there is enough focus allotted to achieve my goals. I had to drop some exciting projects recently so that the more important projects will not suffer. It was hard, but it had to be done.

There is a purpose for everything. Life is good!

About Mariel Tan

Artist at heart who shares the spice in her life. Visit my blogs: https://marieltan.wordpress.com/ https://joiedevivremariel.wordpress.com/

Comments

