Surround Yourself with the Right People

Personal Musings - Surround Yourself with the Right People Feb 27 2013What kind of person do you want to be? Much is reflected with the people you enjoy having as your company. If you want to be a good person, surround yourself with the right people. In fact, surround yourself with the people you want to be like. Maybe it won’t be possible to be with the right people all the time because then you wouldn’t know why you like them more than the others. The irony.

Having immersed myself in various activities, projects and events, I think I have a pretty good idea of what kind of people I like spending my time with whether it be personal or professional. I especially admire those who say nothing but good things about other people, most especially about their friends. These are people who say the successes of others and give you the feeling that they only want what is best for you even if they are competitive themselves. Then again there are those people who have nothing to say but downright negative things about others. They remind me so much about the idea of crab mentality. I especially feel sad for these people that no matter how you tell them to see things in a more positive light, they keep seeing the negative. They missed to realize how much blessings they have had already.

It gets tiring sometimes to hear negative thoughts that it actually consumes me. I try my best to hear their side, wondering if the person just needs someone to listen. But when it gets repetitive, it makes me wonder if the person enjoys what he or she is doing. I, for one, do not enjoy conversations that put down other people. I may smile and probably comment because the idea is entertaining but it’s not something I enjoy doing.

I’m not here to judge. I make this mistake myself but I am conscious of the change I want to make. We all have different backgrounds and circumstances. Who knows why people turn out that way. It must reflect who they probably grew up with or the environment they lived in. When I am with these kinds of people, I feel more grateful to realize that there are really good people out there however ironic it may seem.

Β© 2013 Dolce Vita. All rights reserved.This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed. (marieltan.wordpress.com)
Photo Credit: Tumblr User Post

About Mariel Tan

Artist at heart who shares the spice in her life. Visit my blogs: https://marieltan.wordpress.com/ https://joiedevivremariel.wordpress.com/

Comments

