SuperFreakonomics > Freakonomics

Books - SuperFreakonomics March 7 2013

I enjoyed reading SuperFreakonomics and I am very thankful I got the book before Freakonomics, which is somewhat like the first edition. This won’t be an in-depth review of the two books as it will bore me but I will mention why I may have liked SuperFreakonomics over Freakonomics and a mash of all the lessons learned from both books.

Applying the lessons learned from these books, there are many factors why things happen – why I like SuperFreakonomics more than Freakonomics. First, it may have been because it was a refreshing read from all the other books I’ve read in the past so reading a similar book after may have been less exciting. The arrival at the results or conclusions in SuperFreakonomics is quicker than Freakonomics where hypothesis were first made then they were either accepted or rejected which made an impatient person like me anxious. It made me confused at one point especially when I stopped reading the book for a while. I find it hassle to have to go back just to see if I got the right point of the chapter. Another factor may be the choice of topics. The topics in Freakonomics were more negative and less relatable to me. Actually, that’s mostly it. I love the essence and approach of discussion of the books in general except when hypothesis were overly discussed in some areas. They areΒ less formal than the writing of Malcolm Gladwell but informative and data-based as well. Not that I am saying that his findings are true but they are believable and interesting.

It was great to know that, given some data, people are innately good and honest. Somewhere deep down inside, there is goodness in our hearts that even if we get consumed by evil once in a while, we bounce back. It was also a funny read when I got to the point where monkeys ended up doing prostitution when taught the value of money. It was also mind-boggling to have realized the link between historical facts and global warming today that all we need is another explosion like that of Mt. Pinatubo.

Read it!

Β© 2013 Dolce Vita. All rights reserved.This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed. (marieltan.wordpress.com)

About Mariel Tan

Artist at heart who shares the spice in her life. Visit my blogs: https://marieltan.wordpress.com/ https://joiedevivremariel.wordpress.com/

2 comments

  1. Pingback: Book: Freakonomics | James Kennedy at Monash University

  2. Pingback: Book: SuperFreakonomics | James Kennedy at Monash University

Comments

