You’ve Got M@il

Growing up, I saw my sister watch that movie several times with her VCD. I saw some parts in the past but I never really got to finish it from beginning to end until last night. I was supposed to have it as background sound as I packed for the move-out but I ended up watching the movie and crying! It was beautiful! Maybe I’ve watched the whole thing before but I don’t remember or I never got to appreciate it until now. I think it is because I am now at a point where I can relate. I can relate to the chatting. I can relate to the dating. Not that I have a business, but somehow I am more familiar of the pain of losing a business now that I’m older.

youve_got_mail_ver3The movie stars Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan in 1998. It explores the budding of innovation and technology, from the FOX super store to the internet as a mode of communication. I enjoyed the exchange of mails in the movie because it’s what I like as well. I may not be the best writer but I like to write and receive letters or email. There is something thrilling about sewing together words to relay something significant that even though I don’t know the person I’m talking to well enough, it doesn’t matter at all. It’s a new outlet and it’s exciting. Though letters are easily accessible when you want to reminisce, chatting and emailing are very quick and convenient media of communication.

I used to send a lot of letters and postcards to friends. I used to love sending snail mail, in fact, I still send postcards when I travel. It’s fulfilling to know that it brings so much joy to the recipient. The content of the postcard is half the joy, the fact that you remembered the person and made an effort to send is the one that completes the other half.

youve-got-mail-meg

Kathleen Kelly: What will NY152 say today, I wonder. I turn on my computer. I wait impatiently as it connects. I go online, and my breath catches in my chest until I hear three little words: You’ve got mail. I hear nothing. Not even a sound on the streets of New York, just the beating of my own heart. I have mail. From you.

I was entertained in the scenes when they would show Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan type. It’s exactly how I feel when I try to write something like that. Every pause, every correction, the moments when you want to check when you’ve received something, the moment you click send and you don’t care anymore whether there was something wrong with what you’ve written and you just want to send it right away, the moment you realized there was a mistake and you want to take it back but there is nothing that can be done for it has already been released to the virtual world that is the internet.

Now that messenger doesn’t seem to be very popular, what has replaced the chat rooms? I remember checking those out before back when my user ID was not yet so personal and I was young. I was curious what they actually talked about until I realized it was a way for people to meet which wasn’t my purpose so I got creeped out when I would receive personal messages.

Youve_Got_Mail_380

Joe Fox: You know, sometimes I wonder…

Kathleen Kelly: What?

Joe Fox: Well… if I hadn’t been Fox Books and you hadn’t been The Shop Around the Corner, and you and I had just, well, met…

Kathleen Kelly: I know.

Joe Fox: Yeah. I would have asked for your number, and I wouldn’t have been able to wait twenty-four hours before calling you and saying, “Hey, how about… oh, how about some coffee or, you know, drinks or dinner or a movie… for as long as we both shall live?”

Kathleen Kelly: Joe…

Joe Fox: And you and I would have never been at war. And the only thing we’d fight about would be which video to rent on a Saturday night.

Kathleen Kelly: Well, who fights about that?

Joe Fox: Well, some people. Not us.

Kathleen Kelly: We would never.

Joe Fox: If only.

Kathleen Kelly: [pause] I gotta go.

Joe Fox: Well, let me ask you something. How can you forgive this guy for standing you up and not forgive me for this tiny little thing of… of putting you out of business?

[Kathleen starts to cry]

Joe Fox: Oh, how I wish you would.

Kathleen Kelly: I really have to go.

Joe Fox: Yeah, well… you don’t want to be late.

I love how Tom Hanks knew all along who Shopgirl was and he was trying to turn things around. It was nice to see the innocence in Meg Ryan. I loved it when Tom Hanks visited her when she was sick and brought her daisies. She was just alarmed the whole time she was there. I also loved the fact that the ending of the story was just right. It doesn’t matter anymore whether things would bloom or end after. The movie just ended right.

you've got mail ending

Joe Fox: Don’t cry, Shopgirl. Don’t cry.

Kathleen Kelly: I wanted it to be you. I wanted it to be you so badly.

© 2013 Dolce Vita. All rights reserved.This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed. (marieltan.wordpress.com)
Photo Credit: 1 2 3 4

About Mariel Tan

Artist at heart who shares the spice in her life. Visit my blogs: https://marieltan.wordpress.com/ https://joiedevivremariel.wordpress.com/

3 comments

  1. DTF

    Really, really love this movie esp the points u mentioned hehe it’s also neat that it’s based on an old film called ‘Shop around the corner’! lol now I want to watch this again

    Like

  2. Pingback: Romantic Remakes: You’ve Got Mail | THE PRINCE IN THE TOWER: A Modern Gothic Romance

Comments

