Get Past Your To-Do List

Wäscheklammern

People have mentioned how they have no idea how I finish all the things that I have to do given the amount of time available. I’d like to think that I have created a system to manage my time, but as a perfectionist, I feel it is never enough. Given the results, I’ll give myself some credit and share some best practices that have worked for me. I hope that it works for you too in one way or another.

  • Set your priorities straight. Priorities can be classified as long-term and short-term. Short-term priorities can be daily or weekly priorities that we need to accomplish. We need to be clear in the priorities that we set because time will never be enough for all the things we want to do. We need to let go of some things so we don’t lose sight of the things that are important to us.
  • Write it down. It has worked for me to create an excel file of all the things I need to do, similar to a Gantt chart because I am intense that way. To add to that, I list down on post-its all the things I need to do daily. They say it works best to have a feasible number of items listed and aim to tick off everything on the list. This has worked! You need to believe and to be true to yourself.
  • Do the easiest tasks first. I’m not sure what lesson or theory this is but I learned this in Industrial Engineering. Of the things you have to accomplish, finish the easiest ones first. If you dwell on the hardest right away, you might not have time even for the easy ones in the end.
  • Think simply. Given the limited amount of time, it is best to think of the fastest way to get to the goal. They say that the busiest people are the ones who finish more tasks and those under pressure are those who can think of creative ways to do things. I think this has worked for me because it forces me to think of the most optimal route to my goal.

I’m just leaving it at that on a rainy and cozy day. I hope that this has been useful for you!

© 2013 Dolce Vita. All rights reserved.This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed. (marieltan.wordpress.com)
Photo Credit: Tumblr User Post

About Mariel Tan

Artist at heart who shares the spice in her life. Visit my blogs: https://marieltan.wordpress.com/ https://joiedevivremariel.wordpress.com/

Comments

