Here’s to the nights we felt alive.

Here’s to the nights we felt alive
Here’s to the tears you knew you’d cry
Here’s to goodbyeΒ 
Tomorrow’s gonna come too soon

By Eve 6, “Here’s to The Night”

Year 2013 just came to a close for us here in the Philippines where we jovially welcomed 2014 with open arms, bright colors and polka dots, just a few of the superstitions we keep alive every year. Before I step in to 2014 completely, I would like remember some things that should not be forgotten about the year that just passed.

1. Here’s to graduating from University of the Philippines with flying colors.

All this, I will be forever grateful to my parents. I look back at the days when I just started my major in UP, anxious and worried if I’ll survive and make it in to the real world. I’m glad that part of my life is over. For now, it’s something I don’t want to repeat as I am excited to start this new part of my life that I am in. Maybe one day, I’ll miss those days when I gave it all, my blood and tears, to studying.

SAM_1034

2. Here’s to landing in to one great career in a prestigious FMCG.

It was a bumpy start but I’m here to stay and take the challenge that has been brought upon me. There have been definite ups and downs but I would like to see all these things as a stepping stone for me to become a better person. Who knows where I’ll end up; but for now, I am taking on this challenge with much vigor and optimism.

3. Here’s to relationships and welcoming a new member of the family.

My brother got married last November and my family and I are very excited to have passed this milestone in our lives. 2013 has been a great year for my family as we have never been this close before. Maybe it’s the wedding, maybe it’s not. Whatever it is, I’m happy where my family is and I hope only more good things come our way. I pray for good health and prosperity in 2014.

1452558_10151834588397099_1535336063_n

4. Here’s to traveling and discovering new things.

I was very fortunate to have traveled to quite a number of significant places last 2013, with the best of company, my family. During the summer, we went to Osaka and Tokyo, Japan as graduation gift of my parents to me and my brother. It was truly a memorable trip. Just last Christmas, we went on a local trip to Baguio, where we took the opportunity to travel because everyone in the family was available. This was definitely a rare occasion for the past 6 years at least.Β In addition to this, year 2014 marks the 3rd great year with Reg. I’m looking forward to more adventures with you! ❀

SAM_1171

5. Here’s to taking chances with blogging.

Who knew that Β making my blog public would give me so much joy and fulfillment. This coming year brings a brighter future for my blog as I continue to challenge myself to discover knew things and share it with my followers and others out there. I would also like to engage myself more in the blogs that I follow as I’ve learned a lot from the WordPress community.

Thank you, 2013! You’ve been wonderful indeed!

Β© 2013 Dolce Vita. All rights reserved.This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed. (marieltan.wordpress.com)

About Mariel Tan

Artist at heart who shares the spice in her life. Visit my blogs: https://marieltan.wordpress.com/ https://joiedevivremariel.wordpress.com/

3 comments

  1. Love it! Congratulations Mariel! πŸ™‚ On to 2014 πŸ™‚

    Like

Comments

