Oriental Painting – Branches and Color

Third session of The Art Room‘s Oriental Painting workshop one year ago explored various plants, branches and the use of color. By this time, I already knew that I enjoyed painting flowers the most so I focused on those so I could get it right by the time we had the exhibit. The draft below was one of the first runs of the type of flower I wanted. Eileen made it look so easy when she was painting. When I did it myself, it felt like a complete disaster. I had a huge pile of scratch just painting these flowers. I’ll make a new entry on my final exhibit pieces.

20140510_011840

Look at the various plants Eileen Escuete painted with just one stroke of her brush below. Amazing how the gradient just comes naturally. See how the coconut painting looks. How inspiring!

20140510_150623

I enjoyed painting the branches below but I prefer them thick and dramatic. Apparently, in sum-e, these branches are supposed to be just thin and sharp. I should familiarize myself with sumi-e paintings more. Painting on various types of paper makes it hard to master the final look of the painting as the level of water is key to achieving the best balance of ink on the paper. My favorite paper so far is the rice paper, if I remember correctly. It was so thin and delicate but expensive to practice on. I only had brown paper as scratch to be environmentally friendly at least.

20140510_011934Look how lovely the flower demo my teacher made! She showed us various perspectives of the flowers I am still trying to perfect until this day. Painting in ink is definitely different compared to painting with watercolor paint in tubes. Again, these types of medium have different handling that needs its own level of expertise to perfect. 20140510_151316

Eileen showed us one of her masterpiece on rice paper mounted on a particular paper frame. Apparently, this mounting needs some expertise to stretch and spread on a foundation and this service is scarce, only found in Manila. She was very kind to mount all the pieces of the students in time for the exhibit to save us the effort of visiting Manila for prices that range depending on the size of the paper.

20140510_152547

My mom and I got a photo with Eileen showing our favorite pieces on the third day of the session below. Look how my mom has mastered the tall grass and the thin branches while I focused on flowers.20140510_173704© 2015 Dolce Vita. All rights reserved.This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed. (marieltan.wordpress.com)

About Mariel Tan

Artist at heart who shares the spice in her life. Visit my blogs: https://marieltan.wordpress.com/ https://joiedevivremariel.wordpress.com/

Comments

