Beyond the 15-min Hump

I always find it challenging to go beyond the 10- to 15-min hump during jogging. It’s the transition of the body to warming up and stabilizing the heart rate. This is the point when my heart starts to tighten and I just want to stop. Whenever this happens, I hear the voice of my triathlete friend telling me to never stop however slow the pace may be. Keep the jogging motion. Keep going.

I was proud of myself today for beating the temptation of quitting after 2 rounds around the village. Though my calf muscles killed me at 2.5 rounds where I ended up walking back home, I felt really fulfilled for fighting the laziness inside. These are moments that validate that I don’t give up when challenges come.

Today, I jogged for 30 mins, 10 minutes longer than my Monday jog when I could barely go on at 9:30 PM. That’s about 4km. Next time, I plan to extend it to 40 minutes. I wonder when the day will come when jogging 10km is just easy peasy – just like 3 years ago.

Some motivation from Pinterest:

theberry.com

2de44f66022a132b03c00ac0fc029cdf

© 2015 Dolce Vita. All rights reserved.This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed. (marieltan.wordpress.com)

About Mariel Tan

Artist at heart who shares the spice in her life. Visit my blogs: https://marieltan.wordpress.com/ https://joiedevivremariel.wordpress.com/

2 comments

  1. Keep it up. I think that’s the key to getting longer and faster. And have fun too.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments

