Business & Pleasure in Thailand

Opportunity to Travel

I was fortunate to have been sent by my company to Bangkok to attend a training for my team last Aug 17-21, 2015. This was one opportunity I was not going to pass despite the loads of work and challenges that month. I told myself I had to make it work! Once I found out I was traveling to Thailand, in a matter of weeks, I had my tickets booked, business visa ready and itinerary locked.

Note that no visa is required for Filipinos traveling as a tourist.

Personal & Business Agenda

To ensure no cancellations on my personal agenda, I decided to fly in earlier last Aug 14, 2015 where I first stayed in The Blocks Hostel while I traveled around over the weekend. I went to Ayutthaya last Aug 15 which I’ll write about on a separate entry. On Aug 16, I shopped until I dropped in Chatuchak where I had loads of loot which my arms could barely carry. When my legs could not take me any farther, I went home and prepared for dinner.

I met up with my dear friend Parisa whom I met in an exchange program about four years ago. We had dinner in Greyhound, Emquartier which had a very youthful aura. Food was amazing and so was the company. I thenΒ met her boy friend after dinner and walked around the restaurants in spiral architecture.

batch_SAM_7288

I then stayed inΒ the company-sponsored hotel nearby and attended the week-long training which was, by far, the most inspiring for the year. I would have wanted to stay another weekend longer but I felt I was going to be exhausted from the training where I might need to recuperate before I start another work week.

What a coincidence that the bombings where some tourists were injured happened on the same week, about one station away from where I was staying. Although it took hours before we got back to our hotel, I would prefer long traffic than danger any time.

Before heading home last Aug 22, I took 2 hours in Terminal 21 to go last-minute shopping before I headed to the airport. Terminal 21 had different themes per floor and each floor was designated to a particular market – women, men, children, etc. I had a good loot from that mall!

To see other related entries, visit this link.

© 2015 Dolce Vita. All rights reserved.This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed. (marieltan.wordpress.com)

 

About Mariel Tan

Artist at heart who shares the spice in her life. Visit my blogs: https://marieltan.wordpress.com/ https://joiedevivremariel.wordpress.com/

Comments

