Wat Mahathat

The first stop of my Ayutthaya adventure was Wat Mahathat. I biked from December House and followed the suggested path along Naresuan Road on the map that the December House admin provided. The map they gave was key to an easier exploration. I was having difficulties building an itinerary prior to the trip so this was very helpful.

The first ten minutes of biking was a challenge as I needed to warm up. I don’t recall when I last biked. On top of that, I had quite a number of things in the basket that made the weight of the bike difficult to manage. I ended up carrying the tripod on myย shoulder the whole day. Biking along the rode beside the cars with no designated bikeย lane required much attention as well so there were many things going on when I began.

01 Wat Mahathat

Right when I saw my first stop, I felt a gush of relief. I arrived at Wat Mahathat happy with a feeling of achievement. I quickly set up my tripod to take photos of the facade only to find out that the entrance was on the side of the block. This meant having to pack the tripod again. That’s when I realized how admirable photographers are when they take challenging trips to capture the most amazing moments. It truly takes passion to be one!

batch_SAM_7229

Wat Mahathat is in the central part of Ayutthaya situated in Chikun Road and Naresuan Road.

batch_SAM_7232batch_SAM_7234batch_SAM_7236

There is an iconic image of a Buddha head in between tree roots considered sacred. Tourists who wish to have a photo can showย respect by taking it in kneeling position.

batch_SAM_7237batch_SAM_7238batch_SAM_7239batch_SAM_7240

To see other related entries, visit this link.

ยฉย 2015 Dolce Vita. All rights reserved.This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed. (marieltan.wordpress.com)

About Mariel Tan

Artist at heart who shares the spice in her life. Visit my blogs: https://marieltan.wordpress.com/ https://joiedevivremariel.wordpress.com/

One comment

  1. Pingback: Ayutthaya | Dolce Vita

Comments

