Beautiful January Breeze

It felt great running tonight with the January breeze blowing to my face. I have been waiting for the cold season to come and finally, it is here! I started feeling this breeze about two weeks ago and today was the coldest so far. This is just one of the reasons why I enjoy taking a quick run outdoors. There is something mystical about being in touch with nature except when twigs or fruits fall almost near you.

I have finally crossed over to the fitness level whereby exercise actually makes me feel great, coupled with sleep and good habits. I managed to exercise 4 times last week versus a target of 2. Today, I managed to run 3 rounds for 40 minutes versus my usual 2 rounds for 25 minutes. I feel faster and stronger. I feel great and energized. I have gotten past the point when my calf muscles would tempt me to stop.

In the past, jogging after work would feel like such a burden. I would be so lethargic after that I could not continue working after anymore. This time, it feels different. I started this habit last December and it seems to be paying off. I feel great inside and out! I am not sure if I can now fit in to my old pants but I am glad I feel better!

What worked?

  • I set specific goals for weekdays and weekends so I would end up exercising at least 2 times a week.
  • I encouraged people to support me instead of let me down. I noticed how people would always just tempt me to eat whenever I share my plans to exercise. I tell them how difficult it is to have initiative and the last thing I need is temptation. Thankfully, people have been supportive as I told them my goals.
  • There is no room for excuses. If it’s not yet 8PM, there is still time to exercise or even spin for at least 30 minutes.

I hope that I can continue this habit.

© 2016 Dolce Vita. All rights reserved.This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed. (marieltan.wordpress.com)

About Mariel Tan

Artist at heart who shares the spice in her life. Visit my blogs: https://marieltan.wordpress.com/ https://joiedevivremariel.wordpress.com/

Comments

