Japan Travel Tips – Lodging & Other Facts

Here is my last entry on Japan Travel Tips focused on lodging and other facts before I share the details of my trip. I hope it comes useful to you!

batch_SAM_8113

Lodging & Shopping

  • I suggest picking a place near a main train station (e.g. Shinjuku) or main train track (e.g. Yamanote Line) that will enable you to connect to other sub-stations. This will save you money and time from transferring stations as travel is not cheap in Japan. Some sub-tracks may seem near to main tracks but actually require passengers to walk far or deep underground. I found traversing through stairs to be difficult on long days with many baggage.
  • Shopping is not cheap in Japan except in certain areas like Gotemba Outlet where you can find relatively cheaper branded items.
  • Convenient stores line almost every corner of Japan where unique items can be found hidden in shelves. Check these out as you might find something cool to try.
  • There are numerous craft stores in Japan where my friends have gone crazy buying items. I was able to visit Tokyu Hands but I was too tired to search every nook and cranny of the place.

Other Facts & Tips

  • If I had time, I would have tried checking out a cat cafe as I heard there were a couple of popular ones in Tokyo. Since I was alone on my last day, I got too scared to be surrounded by cats. Maybe I will try next time when Reg is with me.
  • Samurai sessions are available for tourists.
  • Castles and some popular tourist spots are closed on Mondays. Schedule your itinerary considering this fact!
  • Watch out for tourist spots that prohibit the use of photography and tripods.
  • Money changers may be difficult to find if you are not in a hotel so better change your money in the airport or train station. Since I didn’t know this fact when we got to Kyoto, I had to change money in a bank which required me to wait until the bank opened.
  • Since I have been to Japan in the past, getting a visa was no issue. Fortunately, the embassy issued me a multiple-entry visa for the next four years.

To see other related entries, visit this link.

© 2016 Dolce Vita. All rights reserved.This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed. (marieltan.wordpress.com)

About Mariel Tan

Artist at heart who shares the spice in her life. Visit my blogs: https://marieltan.wordpress.com/ https://joiedevivremariel.wordpress.com/

5 comments

  1. Great post. I’d like to link to it in a post (series) I’m putting together from my recent trip to Tokyo if that’s ok with you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for sharing your tips, I really hope to go to Kyoto one day. 🙂

    Like

  3. Pingback: TouringOkinawa Goes To Tokyo – Part 3 – Exploring Tokyo – Touring Okinawa

Comments

