Challenged by Fitbit

I received a new Fitbit Charge HR during the annual assembly of my company two weeks ago. I knew it was going to be a challenge to clock in steps because I am not fond of walking or jogging. I jog once in a while if I feel like I am gaining weight from my snack indulgence but I prefer to exercise on a mat.

Without making an effort, I would only clock in about 2,000 to 3,000 steps. If my colleagues and I happen to eat out for lunch or dinner, steps usually reach to 4,000. On a good note, I was happy to know I was sleeping well!

Two weeks ago, since I received that Fitbit, I have been trying to ponder how I would make it work. I learned that vigorously swinging my arms would count accurate steps. I also learned that swinging my arms during my stationary bike session would make it count like running or walking. I guess I can make it work that way since I am still exercising anyway!

Today, I was challenged to burn 150 calories, bike 10 km and clock in 7,000 steps for 47 minutes. This is pretty rare for sedentary weekends where I prefer to sit around, read, blog or watch shows. I may not reach whopping 50,000 steps like my colleagues but I am happy to know I am less lethargic today. Now I have a reason to drink my Gatorade. I guess there was use for the Fitbit after all!

I am making it count.

© 2016 Dolce Vita. All rights reserved.This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed. (marieltan.wordpress.com)

About Mariel Tan

Artist at heart who shares the spice in her life. Visit my blogs: https://marieltan.wordpress.com/ https://joiedevivremariel.wordpress.com/

Comments

