Saturday Baking

I found myself making brownies from an instant mix today. The instant mix had been sitting in the kitchen for about three months. I was supposed to bake it three months ago when an influx of cakes and sweets came from various occasions. Now that the supply of cakes are down, I decided to bake brownies early this morning.

batch_sam_2020

The Pillsbury Chocolate Fudge did not disappoint me, my brother and my dad. I added premium Hershey’s chocolate chips to enhance the chocolate richness of the brownie. Maybe next time I can add nuts or marshmallows and serve with ice cream.

I encountered some hiccups with our old oven as it was not heating to the temperature that was required of the brownie. I removed it as per the instructions and observed a difference in the color of the brownie on the surface. I tasted it first and experienced a bouncy cake-like texture and extremely moist on certain areas that did not satisfy me. I decided to bake the brownies again and made sure the full surface was even. Alas, the brownies were better! Next time, I will increase the temperature and watch the surface cook.

Will I buy it again? Yes.

© 2016 Dolce Vita. All rights reserved.This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed. (marieltan.wordpress.com)

About Mariel Tan

Artist at heart who shares the spice in her life. Visit my blogs: https://marieltan.wordpress.com/ https://joiedevivremariel.wordpress.com/

Comments

