Origami Kaikan

Tokyo Series Day 8 – Part 1 (Oct 27, 2015)

I was quite excited to plan for the last day of my trip last year because I had the liberty to choose places I do not usually go to when more folks are with me. Since I had been to Japan a number of times already, I decided to make it a solo art day. There were too many places to visit but I only had time to visit four places that logistically made sense.

The day started with me dropping off Reg in Shinjuku station where he headed to Narita Airport by himself. I needed to practice the path going to Shinjuku as I was going to be alone to lug my bag the next day. We traversed flat road, stairs, escalators, malls and more stairs. I had a full day ahead of me so I could not go with him all the way. As I was about to start my solo trip, I unfortunately lost my printed travel itinerary that detailed the most efficient path of the day. Fortunately, I had a copy of the itinerary in Google Drive which I downloaded upon connecting to the internet in the nearest station.

The first place I visited was Origami Kaikan where I alighted in Ochanomizu Station. I walked about 500m more until I reached the store. Since I arrived 30 minutes before store opening, I decided to walk around and grab something to eat in a convenience store nearby. Right when 9:30AM struck, I was at the store door, looking through various origami pieces.

Origami Kaikan had numerous floors catering to different needs. I recall the first floor having a front door desk to serve the needs of the visitors. There were master pieces in glass shelves with price tags which people could purchase.

batch_sam_8397batch_sam_8398batch_sam_8401batch_sam_8403batch_sam_8406

Another floor I visited was a shop selling raw materials for origami projects. This was where I took long as I looked at almost each book and material I could understand, hoping for some miracle that I could bring some home to the Philippines. Unfortunately, I only had room for one book as my bag was too heavy to carry already.

batch_20151027_091001batch_sam_8417batch_sam_8419batch_sam_8422batch_sam_8423

It was such a beautiful place that brings origami to life. I wish people can visit it to keep the enthusiasm and art alive!

To see other related entries, visit this link.

© 2016 Dolce Vita. All rights reserved.This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed. (marieltan.wordpress.com)

About Mariel Tan

Artist at heart who shares the spice in her life. Visit my blogs: https://marieltan.wordpress.com/ https://joiedevivremariel.wordpress.com/

7 comments

  1. Needs quite some patience too if one is to make a complicated piece!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wonderful craftsmanship!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Origami materials – now those would be a nice addition to the items that art stores here in the Philippines are carrying 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Comments

