Something Deeper

When I turned 28 last February, I observed certain changes in me, physically, spiritually and emotionally. I am entering a different phase in my life and it is not really a crisis, just yet.

Physically, I feel my metabolism has slowed down. What used to be a diet when I was younger seems to be the norm that must be sustained to just maintain my physique. On top of that, I need to work out harder to burn any indulgences if I don’t want to buy a whole new set of clothes. It was difficult to accept this at first because I grew up dancing ballet. It was so easy to stay fit because I had regular classes to go to. When I quit, I depended on my youthful body and metabolism. It is different now and I need to accept a certain limit that is no longer the same as the past.

Spiritually and emotionally, I seem to long for something deeper. Since I have been on a long distance relationship, I realized, more and more, how few deep relationships I have with friends. People come and go and I hope that I will sustain these quality relationships that I have. I know that some of these may not last forever as interests and life principles may change. I am more open to getting to know more people from all walks of life. I have yet to work on reaching out to folks far from my age group, both young and old.

I have had a blog for more than 10 years now and I know what it means to follow for the sake of gaining followers and genuinely following blogs because I truly enjoy them. I have a mix of both in my feed as I have had different whims at different points in time. I recently launched a new blog and Instagram account for my crochet endeavor, Joie De Vivre by Mariel, which made me question what type of account I was going to maintain.

As I read through blogs nowadays, I find myself longing for posts with substance, people I can connect with. I find joy in being able to read through the whole post and comment because I want to connect. It took a while to build this kind of feed as some folks are not able to maintain blog accounts after a while. Likewise for my Instagram account, I find myself following accounts that pique my interest, unfollowing those accounts which I followed for the sake of gaining followers. I am now at peace with myself if my followers dwindle once in a while because they do the same.

I am not sure if this longing was triggered by my long distance relationship but I am grateful for the quick connections on the internet that allow me to know people, even virtually.

This is me just saying that I miss you and our moments of long conversation.

Β© 2017 Dolce Vita. All rights reserved.This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed. (marieltan.wordpress.com)

About Mariel Tan

Artist at heart who shares the spice in her life. Visit my blogs: https://marieltan.wordpress.com/ https://joiedevivremariel.wordpress.com/

2 comments

  1. It’s a natural thing, if you ask me. You tend to look for quality rather than quantity as you grow older, so part of that is trimming off a lot of things from the past. It’s akin to pruning a tree to make room for growth. πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

Comments

